Foothills Logo
Shopping Cart
View | Checkout
0 items | $0.00
High Interest Low Vocab Readers Adapted Classics Class Resources English as a Second Language Speech and Language Math Materials Social Skills / Life Skills Testing & Testing Aids


That Dog! Series
Item #: TD1 Includes: Complete Set: 12 books (one of each title)
Price: $96.00
Reading Level (Grade): 1.00-2.00 Interest Level (Age): 8-14+
Author(s): Tami Reis-Frankfurt

That Dog! Series

Catch Up Readers
Designed for older students, these books can be used to either teach or reinforce new and already learned decoding skills. All thirteen progressive phonics series (Moon Dogs to Amber Guardians) feature action-packed stories divided into books with about 300 words each, with the conclusion of the story in each sets final book.

Features of Catch Up Readers
•Designed for guided or independent reading
•Ideal for practicing specific decoding patterns in the context of a larger narrative
•Text is supported by color pictures on each page
•Each book focuses on a set of sound-spellings for readers to practice
•Action-packed stories in short books (about 300 words each)

That Dog! Series

The That Dog! Series is 12 adventure stories for students ages 8 through 14 who would benefit from a beginning phonics program. This series starts at CVC/CVCC level text, then builds up reading skills in a step-by-step phonic progression, allowing practice and consolidation at each level. To promote interest, the series features one continuous story when read in sequence, with the conclusion in the final book.
•Book 1: CVC, CVCC
•Book 2: CVCC
•Book 3: CVCC
•Book 4: CVCC, -ed
•Book 5: CCVCC
•Book 6: 'ch', 'tch'
•Book 7: 'sh'
•Book 8: < th >
•Book 9: < ck >, < qu >
•Book 10: < ng >
•Book 11: < wh >, -ing
•Book 12: < le >

Ben has always wanted a dog. One day a scruffy stray follows him home. Will he get to keep him?

These exciting, age appropriate tales take the pupils from CVC and CVCC word level text through to adjacent consonants, consonant digraphs and suffixes. This series shares the same phonic progression as the Magic Belt Series and can be used in parallel.