Foothills Logo
Shopping Cart
View | Checkout
0 items | $0.00
High Interest Low Vocab Readers Adapted Classics Class Resources English as a Second Language Speech and Language Math Materials Social Skills / Life Skills Testing & Testing Aids


Totem Series
Item #: TM1 Includes: Complete Set: 12 Books (one of each title)
Price: $96.00
Reading Level (Grade): 1.00-2.00 Interest Level (Age): Ages 8-14+
Author(s): Tami Reis-Frankfort

Totem Series

Catch Up Readers
Designed for older students, these books can be used to either teach or reinforce new and already learned decoding skills. All seven progressive phonics series (Moon Dogs to Titan's Gauntlet) feature action-packed stories divided into books with about 300 words each, with the conclusion of the story in each sets final book.

Features of Catch Up Readers
•Designed for guided or independent reading
•Ideal for practicing specific decoding patterns in the context of a larger narrative
•Text is supported by color pictures on each page
•Each book focuses on a set of sound-spellings for readers to practice
•Action-packed stories in short books (about 300 words each)

Totem Series

The Totem Series is 12 fantasy/adventure stories for students ages 8 through 14 who would benefit from a beginning phonics program. This series starts at CVC/CVCC level text, then builds up reading skills in a step-by-step phonic progression, allowing practice and consolidation at each level. To promote interest, the series features one continuous story when read in sequence, with the conclusion in the final book.
Includes 12 decodable books starting at CVC & CVCC level.
•Book 1: CVC, CVCC (CVC, CVCC)
•Book 4: 'sh', 'ch', 'th' (sh, ch, th)
•Book 5: 'ck', 'ng', 'qu', 'wh' (ck, ng, qu, wh)
•Book 6: 'ae' (ai, ay, ae, a)
•Book 7: 'ee' (ee, ea, e, y, ey)
•Book 8: 'oe' (oe, ow, oa, o)
•Book 9: 'er' (er, ir, ur)
•Book 10: 'ow' (ow, ou)
•Book 11: 'ie' (igh, ie, y, i)
•Book 12: 'oo' (oo, ew, ue, u)

Zak’s adventures begin when he’s captured by two men and his shepherd’s staff acquires special powers.

Starting at CVC level the books progress at a faster pace through adjacent consonants, consonant digraphs and alternative vowel s... (more)